Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people.

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

A commonly held view is that in immediate future, thanks to the significant technological development, cars are able to be driven by computers. In spite of some benefits associated with this issue, it is true to say that it will bring a new set of significant negative consequence.

First of all, it should be stuck in the mind that computerization will result in less human error and more speed. Automation, which is considered as a most important feature of modern era, will facilitate those difficult and time- consuming tasks that need to be repeated. Nowadays, there are many modern equipment such as robots that are capable to be programmed to do these task countless number. Driving is no exception, which might be result in less human-related accidents.

On the other hand, replacing driver by computers have several drawbacks. First of all, people dependency on technology will increased dramatically. Consequently, the amount of physical activities would decline which result in more risk of diseases such as obesity or heart disease. Besides, the number of several different job opportunities will reduce. A quick glance at society indicates that thousands of people earn money by driving taxi, bus, lorry or other kind of transportation vehicles. The third disadvantage of robots related to those problems that may occurred during service. This refer to error in program of a component of hardware.

Taking everything into consideration, it seems that drawbacks of computerization outweigh the benefits and can leads to some major negative impact on health and economy of society.