Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Why?

It is true that technology development is gaining more achievements for the time being, hence various predictions about sophisticated inventions, especially self-driving cars. Despite some obvious benefits of advances in technology, I consider this invention is wholly consequent.

Undoubtedly, the introduction of computer-controlled equipments indirectly increase the reliance of people on technology. This leads to an obvious consequence, the laziness of human. According to the theory of human beings, if any parts of body are not used for a long time, they cannot function as before, or they even disappear in the future. I doubt that in the long term, this is no longer a theory, but a reality if people keep depending on technology and rising the level of laziness. Therefore, the introduction of self-driving cars may result in significant changes of human development, obviously in a negative way.

Another point to consider is the perfection of this invention. Cars that is driven by computers comprising electronic elements, which makes it sensitive to water. Although the manufacturers can tackle this issue by applying some sophisticated technology advances. However, we cannot assure that the function is absolutely perfect. There are little chances that on rainy days, water affects the calculating of the computers, which results in some unpredictable lethal accidents. In short, it is safer for people to drive cars, rather than computers, and I believe that most people will not choose to risk their lives for a non-emotional yet pricey machine.

In conclusion, some genius scientists have gone too far in expecting computer-controlled vehicles without any counter-effects. This invention may not only inflicks harm on human evolution, but also becomes the main cause of traffic accidents.