Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

Scientists suggest that in the near future, the linguistic barriers would be destroyed because people just use one language over the world. While some people think that it is a negative development, I strongly believe that benefits of this phenomenon could outweigh drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is no doubt that speaking only one language has some disadvantages. Firstly, the rich cultural diversity which makes our life more interesting would be lost. Language is a vital connection with cultural identity and people speaking it, so if languages disappear, the young will underestimate the value of their culture and traditions. Secondly, the fact that finding out which official language to speak may create an intense argument between the developed countries because no one wants their language to be disappeared. Therefore, it leads to the serious problems such as violence or would world war.

On the other hand, I believe that humanity can reap the benefits from using one language only. By using the same language, the development of economy, tourism, education could be boosted thanks to facilitation of international communication .Moreover, using only one language is a bridge with different cultures and countries. The scientists and students can research and gain knowledge more easily and conveniently since all materials over the world are written in one language. For example, nowadays, some novels and poetry has rhetoric and some sentences that when translated into other language would be not true and makes this text is devalued.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, although using one language has some disadvantage, it is necessary and has an enormous positive effect on the development of the world.