Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language.
Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?
At present, there are thousands of languages being spoken in the many regions of the globe. However,
perhaps in the foreseeable future, only one common language will exist as a means of communication.
In my opinion, although this development would help to increase international communications, it
would be highly detrimental to the diversity of our species.
If we all spoke the same language, it would be the bridge to harmony and understanding between
different cultures and countries. It would eliminate the key hurdle that keeps groups of people separate
because we all have a sense of familiarity through language. We could therefore better comprehend
different cultures that used to be somewhat misinterpreted due to a linguistic barrier.
Nevertheless, if there were one common language, a part of a country’s core identity would be
sacrificed. Language not only is the way people living in the same society communicate but
also symbolizes their origins and defining characteristics. Vietnamese people, for example, have been
known for their heroism and patriotism through the words of their anthems, while most people think of
France as a land of romance because French is considered to be the language of love.
Cultural diversity and historical values would also be put at stake as a consequence of this trend.
Dialects in any part of a country carry unique stories and lessons of the past which are closely linked
to religions, beliefs, and lifestyles. And a world that uses only one language would be the ground for the
likely unfortunate disappearance of those precious aspects of life.
In conclusion, although a single global language would help to ease language barriers between nations, I
believe it would be a major threat to human identity, culture and history.