In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Today, there is a growing trend among the elderly towards the increase in life expectancy. This may be beneficial to individuals, while the adverse effects on the young population as well as the society are inevitable. Therefore, there should be viable ways to remedy this problem.

There are several related problems that can be anticipated. The most prominent one is the imbalance between sectors. This is due to the fact that a great amount of state budget is allocated for the rising number of retired people. This means, the money for other sectors such as education and health is likely to be reduced, which can be detrimental to an overwhelming majority of the society- young people. Secondly, the old can be a burden for the young in their families, in terms of economy. Owing to the longer they live, the more fees their descendant have to pay in order to maintain their lives. Money spent on medicine, foodstuff is only the typical example of such financial stress that offspring have to cope with.

In order to mitigate the aforementioned problems, there are several measures can be taken. Firstly, pensions would only be for those who are on low income. People whose salary during their working life is lower compared to the society should be specifically targeted to have pensions. This can not only reduce social inequality, but also can save a great amount of money for the state. Secondly, there should be an increase in the retirement age for working adults. Given that many people who are in their sixties or even older, are still able to continue a productive working life. This can help the young to ease the material burden since they would be economically independent.

In conclusion, there are a host of problems that arise from the escalating rate of life expectancy. Yet I believe that there are feasible solutions that can be adopted to deal with them.