Sending criminals to prison is no the best method of dealing with them. Education ans job training are better way to help them. Do you agree or disagree?

There exists a belief that instead of punishing criminals by putting them in prison, education and job training are assessed as the best methods to cut crime. In my personal perspective, I strongly agree with this school of thought for several reasons.

To begin with, prison is not an appropriate environment to help criminals rehabilitate their good manner. It is due to the fact that people who commit different types of crimes are kept in the same place. These criminals have to expose to others’ bad habits leading to be lack of self-acknowledgement about their previous faults. In contrast of this, if offenders are given vocational training and valuable moral lessons, they will be motivated to rehabilitate to become such good citizens after the time of punishment finishes. In other words, criminals receiving job training and education are aware of the meaning of being honest people and thus, it will be helpful to cut crime.

Additionally, maintaining prisons is extremely expensive. National budget will be put under heavy pressure to operate these facilities. However, with the same amount of money, it is obviously more beneficial to construct vocational training center dedicated to criminals. This policy will not only help offenders to get rehabilitation but it also ensures that they can find certain jobs to make ends meet by themselves. In some Nordic countries, for instance, criminals who undergo a vocational training course can apply for multiple manual work like builders or craftsmen. The crime rate in these nations also reduces to a minimum.

In conclusion, I believe that forging and providing chance to rehabilitate are always much better than punishment. Allowing criminals to get education and job training is beneficial to both themselves as well as the development of the whole society.