Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In recent years, some rare linguistic system is becoming increasingly extinctive when few groups use it in their communities. It is argued that spending government budget on preserving these languages should be conducted; however, the others suggest that this trend would be wasted. Personally judging, these opinions possess both advantages and disadvantages to a certain extent, and the latter statement would bring more benefits in the whole of the circumstance.

Firstly, regarding the first statement, preserving languages spoken less widely should be made great emphasis on money investment to preserve local culture and strengthen the rich cultural diversity. In detail, a language is much more than simply a means of communication, which means a vital connection with the cultural identity of people who speak it. By spending money on protecting minority languages, government can preserve local traditions, customs and behaviors. Also, if a language disappears, a whole way of life will disappear with it, and society will lose the rich cultural diversity that makes the public more interesting.

Secondly, considering the view of saying these languages as a waste of money, there are two reasonable causes related to expenses and the effectiveness of this phenomenon. In detail, if a language is only spoken by a small number of people, expensive education programs will be needed to make sure that more people learn it, and the state will have pay for facilities, teachers and marketing. This money might be better spent on other public services such as healthcare system or basic infrastructure. As a result, it would be cheaper and more efficient for countries to have just one language.

In conclusion, every option always has its pros and cons, so government should choose appropriate policies to get the highest levels of benefits at that time. Additionally, spending a great amount of money on preserving a minority language would be a heavy burden of the state budget, which is less effective than other investment in healthcare system or basic infrastructure.