Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, it is true that some languages spoken by small groups of people may disappear and there are two arguments for this problem. While a school of thought holds that these languages should be preserved by national authorities, in my point of view, countries could save a huge amount of money by allowing this extinction to happen.

On the one hand, it is argued that Government should try to preserve minority languages because of the undeniable values that they bring to each country. Commencing with, each language plays an important role in establishing the cultural identity of each country. A language not only is a simple means of communication but also has a vital connection with the whole life of people who speak them since it has evolved over thousands of years along with the appearance and growth of a certain community or a tribe. Therefore, if it goes extinct, the country will lose its cultural diversity which makes societies more interesting and colorful. In addition, a minority language may be greatly helpful in researching valuable things about certain areas which have scientific and educational significance. To be more specific, there are many traditional myths or lessons, such as literature or medical treatment instruction, which were documented in minority languages by ancestors, so if these languages die out, then these values will also be lost.

Despite the above arguments, I assume that investing heavily in retaining minor languages wastes our public funds and results in negligible benefits. Firstly, if a language is only spoken by a small group of people, expensive education programs will be necessary to make sure that more people learn it, and the states will have to pay for facilities, teachers, and marketing. In meanwhile, this budget might be better allocated for other more essential public services such as medical facilities, scientific research, and economic development aid fund,… which contribute considerably to the wealth & growth of a nation. Secondly, it would be much more efficient for countries to have just one common language. In other words, instead of spending money and time on obtaining a language that would diminish in the future, it is better for people to excel in another international language, such as English, Germany, French, or Japanese,… so that they can catch up with the rapid speed of globalization.

In conclusion, although minority languages also make certain contributions to cultural diversity, the national budget is limited and should be used for other more important domains.