Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is obvious that more and more minority languages are disappearing. There are some suggestions that governments should not waste money to protect these languages. However, I argue that they should be preserved and protected.

There are several reasons why saving minority languages could be seen as a waste of money. Firstly, there is only a small number of indigenous who speak these languages so it would be expensive to create educational programs for other people. Instead, governments should spent money for healthcare, infrastructure and other public services,... .Secondly, it would be more convenient and more efficient for countries to have just one official language. Make the inhabitants learning this official language will be easier for other people to communicate with them. In addition, educating these minority groups will definitely cheaper than teaching a majority of people to learn these sparse languages.

Despite those controversies mentioned above, I still believe that governments should try to preserve languages that are less widely spoken. A language is not just words, it has a lose connection to the cultural identity of its native speakers. If a language extinct, the diversity of cultural identity will be affected and our society will not as interesting as before. By preserving endangered languages, governments can also protect traditions, customs and behaviors that are parts of their inhabitants and the whole country's history.

All things considered, preserving minority languages can be costly but I believe that government should maintain these languages for the long-term effects on our cultural heritage.