Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Rare languages with a limited number of speakers are on the verge of extinction. Conflicting opinions exist on whether or not governments should preserve such languages with public funds. I tend to agree that the authorities should do them a favor.

Governments are obligated to conserve culture, including all tangible and intangible cultures. As a form of intangible culture, languages appear to be tools through which people can share and communicate their ideas, beliefs, arts, and histories. Many languages are fading away, which implies that the cultures of the people who once spoke them are disappearing. Apart from that, learning a variety of languages might help historians to have a better understanding of the evolution of the civilization composed of speakers of rare languages. So, it is logical for the government to use public money to save rare languages.

On the contrary, there is an alternative perspective that considers it a waste of money. These groups are reluctant to use public funds to save languages from extinction since governments in some countries with poverty or epidemics frequently lack the resources necessary to meet the necessities of their citizens. Instead of using the money to protect minority languages, they would much rather use it to raise the standard of living for the population. However, it is feasible to request the preservation of several languages from the United Nations or international charitable foundations. It should not simply be dropped due to poverty or diseases.

In conclusion, I believe that governments must work to prevent the extinction of local languages and that the United Nations has a role in supporting those countries that are struggling financially to finish their tasks.