Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Our civilizations rely mainly on language as it is the most efficient way of communication. Some languages will eventually go extinct since very few people actively speak them. There are several debates on whether governments should spend money to maintain them or whether doing so could waste our public funds. However, I believe it's essential to keep local languages alive.

There are increased attempts from various states, primarily the more affluent ones, to preserve these languages, which could become extinct soon. For instance, languages from many cultures on our planet are shared through campaigns, language tournaments, and language scholarships for students of diverse backgrounds. As people learn more languages, they will use them to communicate in the future and preserve the languages. As we practice more, sustaining those languages for the succeeding years becomes easier.

However, many argue that governments would have wasted resources if they had to invest heavily in retaining those languages. In addition, the significant and necessary developments that will take place in our communities will require these funds. For example, various public systems, such as health care, transportation, and education, require these resources. Moreover, some languages will perish if they are no longer useful to our society because they are no longer required. Then why would they spend that money on them?

I think these languages should not be forgotten. Language is what represents our culture, place, people, and so on. If a particular place’s language is omitted, the place is replaced and barren, as there will be no one representing it. Hence, we should make efforts and spend money to preserve the languages.

In conclusion, there seem to be two reasons for spending more money to preserve languages. It may cost a lot, but preserving our cultural history is worth it.