Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves?

Whether the affluent societies should provide aid for the needy in the underdeveloped countries or the governments of poor countries are supposed to undertake the responsibility of their inhabitants’ wellbeing themselves is the main issue. In this essay, I will discuss why I am a proponent of the idea that the governments themselves are liable for providing standard living conditions for their people.

Firstly, in any society, the ruling party is responsible for providing an appropriate condition for residents. It means that all essential requirements of all residents are supposed to be satisfied by the government. If such dire needs are not met, the central government is not qualified to govern the country anymore, and its authorities are obliged to resign or being prosecuted in the trial. This is because the life of population would be endangered in case that the inhabitants cannot have access to their basic needs such as food, shelter, medicine, and education. As a case in point, in Venezuela, the country in which people grapple with economic recession to find food, leader of government whose responsibility was taking care of its citizens against poverty, was subjected to the prosecution.

Secondly, governments should not depend on international humanitarian activities because these activities have a temporary positive effect on the life of destitute individuals. It means that the demerits of it overweigh its merits in the long run. The residents of undeveloped countries living in the abject poverty probably hold this misconception that these foreign financial and non-financial aids will be a permanent source of supporting their life. So, most of them are likely to lose their motivation to work hard, the result of which is the widespread indolence among the labor force and lead to reducing work efficiency in the country receiving the international financial aid.