Should Women be Allowed in the Army
As scale of feministic movement is rapidly expanding nowadays , plethora of men
argue that women should also join the military to indicate equality. This essay will
consider arguments against women joining army and point to some of the
reasons with these views.
To begin with, one of the numerous stumbling blocks is women's physical
fitness. From a scientific standpoint, female gender is substantially weaker than
male one. Military life may be indeed challenging to handle and it may deteriorate
woman's health so that in future she might have difficulties with pregnancy or
even in daily life. Men possess physical strength and stamina to endure hardships
that are faced in military in comparison with women. Moreover, if women will join
the army, who will look after home and children? Women are home-keepers, men
are guardians and breadwinners ; it was set since the early times.
Second factor to take into account is women's psychological state. Females
are not only physically delicate but also emotionally. Women might be subjected
to pressure from men or even assaulted during military life. Harsh conditions may
result in mental instability.Moreover, disasters and terrors that may occur during
potential war may disrupt women's psychology.
On the other hand, looking back to Kazakh history may show us that
women are capable of serving in the army. The most prominent examples are
Manshuk Mametova and Asiya Moldagulova who were sergeant and corporal
respectively during Second World War. They were both the only Kazakh women
awarded the title " Hero of the Soviet Union for their courage and patriotism.
Therefore, I suppose that enlisting in the military for women should be voluntary.
All things considered, it can be concluded that women should be allowed to
pursue military career if they have appropriate physical and mental training.