When designing a building, the most important factor is the intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The era we are currently living in is experiencing the ursurge of wide range of buildings both newfangled and not. Some people claim that exterior design is of major importance in any infrastructure while others argue that it is not. I agree that building's appearance is crucial but its importance should not be overstated.

Those people who assume that design should not be prioritized often highlight practical use of buildings. These buildings are erected in order to serve specific functions ranging from storage to meetings. For instance, a garage is a space for keeping transport and its appearance is of no use. It carries out its duty which makes its exterior design redundant. The initial fact to take into account when building anything is its purpose, not design.

Conversely, however, there are some factors that should not overlooked when considering the appearance of a building. Architecturers often create an eye-catching design to attract tourists. There is no point in denying the fact that plethora of tourists nowadays are appealed by the exterior rather than interior look of buildings. They take photos in front of them and haste to post them on social media in order to brag. This results in increasing flow of tourists in particular places and that in its turn makes these places wideknown to the world. For instance, well-known Eiffel Tower welcomes almost 17 million tourists per annum. Therefore, buildings appearance may be of importance in some cases.

All things considered, one may conclude that buildings should be practical. However, sometimes exterior design of infrastructure is important and should not be derogated.