Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In 21st century, arts and culture are still supported by government. While some people claim that government's budget should not be allocated to arts and culture, others argue that citizens are in advantage from cultural activities. There are strong arguments on both sides of the debate which will be presented in this essay.

There is no point in denying that all countries take pride in their heritage. Arts and culture are two of the most vital components of this sacrosanct heritages. For they are not neglected nor forgotten, government has to provide money to preserve and enhance cultural heritage. Furthemore, arts and culture reflect values, beliefs and customs of the nation. If artists and other creative people do not receive support and incentives, they will not be able to create masterpieces. For instance, a well-known Italian artist Picasso represents Italian culture and art. He invented a wide range of art techniques sthat spread the word about his homeland and art in general.

Conversely, however, nowadays art is becoming notoriously widespread all across the globe. Due to the reason that this sector is lucrative, some people are seeking easy money. They may not be adept at painting or culturally aware, but still create paintings purportedly called art. For example, in 2016, a person named Arwin Minhaj sold his painting of a huge yellow circle for 1 million dollars. This is due to the hype and promotion he had, not because of his outstanding talent or skills. When investing in arts and culture, government should invest appropriately. Second argument in favour of reducing the amount of money allocated on arts and culture is public services. Majority of countries still struggle with literacy, education, health care and policing. That is the reason why government has to concentrate more on improving these mentioned sectors rather than arts and culture. Investing in public facilities and services may improve the overall living standards of a country. Government has to prioritize nation's welfare and only then take into account arts and culture.

Despite the fact that many people are critizing governments for supporting artists, I believe arts and culture play a vital role in people's lives.

In the light of the analysis made above, one may conclude that incentives for investing in arts and culture still prevail.