Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In current days, many dangerous illnesses and deaths are caused by smoking cigarettes and tobacco products, so preventing people from unhealthy things is the leading mission of governments to keep local health. Personally, I totally agree with the opinion because of following reasons.

Admittedly, one may argue that if people can have a choice to utilize cigarettes in the smoking areas, they will not harm anybody. It is true that many restaurants, shopping malls, and work stations have several smoking areas to serve people who want to utilize cigarettes or tobacco items. However, this dangerous trend to switch normal people to addicts is the main reason why local health dramatically drops, so the appearance of new laws from authorities can prevent the number of addicted users. For example, if authorities ban all smoking places and enforce new laws-related the utilization of cigarettes, the number of cigarettes’ users will noticeably decrease and they will abandon cigarettes step by step.

Granted, one might argue that cigarettes and tobacco products are the high-tax items, so if the government encourages this kind of business, they can dramatically develop their national economy. It is true that with the enormous amount of money coming from taxes, governments can develop their national facilities which play an important role in attracting visitors from different countries. In contrast, businesses which rely on local people’s health are unacceptable and the leading factor which will decrease the number of local residents.

In conclusion, I totally agree with the opinion because keeping local residents’ health is an effectively crucial method to develop the national economy, and if the smoking areas can not exist, the government will easily control the utilization of cigarettes and tobacco products.