Social Media Effects

Some people think that social media (such as Facebook) have shown a deteriorating influence on both individuals and society. I agree as it results in addiction to a person and leads to cancelled culture to some groups.

Severe addiction is one of the impacts one found in using too much social media. This is because human brains are being manipulated by the instant rewards one gets from using it which comes from the features embedded in social media, making one craves for more as it generates dopamine (the hormone of achievement). According to an NCBI study in 2020 recorded that 70% of young adults in New York spent mostly 8 hours on Instagram per day. Regarding this, an increase of dopamine level found inside their brain and only can be stimulated in a high amount when they were using social media.

Equally important, a cancel culture to a certain group is also found to be the same obnoxious effect of social media as not all people are literate to distinguish hoaxes. This is because they believe everything they see and hear on social media, moreover of what comes from their influencer. A survey done by CNN in 2019 found that 50% of Muslim discrimination in New York increased drastically after President Donald Trump's tweet, which assumed a correlation between Muslims and the 911 tragedy. The discrimination case was investigated and found most of the perpetrators called Muslims a "911 terrorist" just because Donald Trump tweeted so.

To sump up, I believe addiction and a cancel culture are two deteriorating effects of using social networking sites. It is important for users to be wise while using it.