Social media has completely changed the way family and friends communicate with each other. What are the other reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

The communication approach of families and friends with each other has been altered by social media. There is a strong likelihood that effective communication is the main reason for such an alternation, and it might bring positive implications in terms of a strong bond.

Admittedly, people tend to use social networking sites for having effective communication with their relatives or friends. Such applications may reduce distortion such as misunderstanding that most of the time happens when people used traditional methods such as telegram or pager as a result of minimalizing expression and text characters, and by using video call as one functionality of such applications, such a drawback might be overcome. Facebook, as an example of famous social networking sites, has been launched a video call feature and by accessing such a feature, users can see and speak directly to their families or friends. This resulted in less miscommunication between individuals to other individuals.

What is more, such an improvement in the way of communication leads to a person having tightened relationship with parents and friends. The usage of such applications too much may trigger users to avoid direct communication which is the best communication way. Nevertheless, in terms of effective communication, it will be the easiest way to keep in touch when such people have a long distance. The majority of students who pursue their higher education abroad uses Skype application to make a video call, and this helps them for keeping communicating with their relatives. This is ample evidence such applications bringing positive implications for tightening relationship.

In conclusion, the communication method has been changed by social media accessed due to the effectiveness of communication, and such applications may help them to maintain their relationship.