Social media has replaced the traditional methods of communicating, and people use more and more social media to communicate, to follow news and events. Do the advantages of social outweigh its disadvantages?

With the rise of the internet a huge number of social networking sites has emerged over the last two decades that offer instant communication and affordable entertainment. They facilitate the way we communicate and alter the methods of getting news. However, some people claim that there are several disadvantages of social media that we have to consider. In this essay, I would argue that benefits of social media outweigh its drawbacks in terms of its cheap price of usage and availability.

To begin with, social media or social networking sites tend to provide affordable communication with people in remote locations and almost unlimited source of entertainment. To be precise, in the past people used to contact with their relatives abroad via landline telephones or by writing letters. In most cases, international calls cost them a fortune, letters took too much time until they were received. Social media have revolutionized this process and now it is just a matter of few clicks thanks to the internet and social media websites, like Facebook, Telegram or Instagram. Besides, people can have fun and enjoy a variety of entertaining videos or activities on social media.

Another main advantage of social media is its accessible usage. Here I am referring to the fact that, these social networking web sites are available and can be accessed in the majority of countries around the world. For example, one can share their memories with their close people whenever or wherever they want. Furthermore, business people tend to use it on order to be aware of current affairs and news or to access their files remotely due to the speed of social media. The only thing that is required for social media is the internet.

On the other hand, there are some people who hold the view that social media causes breakdowns in family relationships and sense of isolation. It is their view that excessive usage of these sites is likely to encourage people not to socialize, but to stay at home instead. Furthermore, social media, they argue, can be a cause for divorces in some cases as spouses may have quarrels because of it.

To conclude, although there are some probable cons, such as sense of feeling cut-off, pros of communication and easy access far outweigh them. In my opinion, providing people know the limit when they utilize social media, they are highly unlikely to experience its negatives.