Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they are released from prisons.

Why is this?

What consequences this can have on society?

The acts of recommitting crime among ex-prisoners are common in all parts of the world. There can be a couple of reasons why this happens, and the consequences are highly negative for societies. Difficulties in becaming a part of community and poor rehabilitation in prisons are probable reasons behind this.

The first reason who people commit crimes again can be the people's reluctancy to accept them after they are set free from prisons. To be more precise, they cannot find jobs, because of their criminal record in most cases. In fact, employers donot want to risk their reputation and property by employing former criminals. As a result, they are forced to continue the illegal activities to earn for a living. This results in rising crime rates in society which makes people feel unsafe.

The second possible reason is that prisons are not serving as a tool to change inmates to the good side, instead prisoners learn from each other. In other words, people who committed petty crimes are kept with other serious criminals, which lead them deeper into crime world. Whenever they are released, they are likely to experiment what they have learnt in prisons. Consequently, they are imprisoned again, making jails full with robbers, burglars and murderers.

To conclude, reasons behind this issue are clear, and consequences are extremely significant for society and individuals as well. In my opinion governments should reorganize the prison system, and then, people can ve persuaded that former prisoners are trustworthy.