Social media marketing can influence what consumers buy. Do you agree or disagree? To what extent do you agree?

Since the time social networking sites came into existing, the world has become a lot smaller and connected place. Almost 90 percent of the world’s population uses these platforms such as Facebook, Snapchat, Twitter and so on and so forth. Besides, with the rise of online retail stores, customers can buy any product from anywhere. I nearly but not completely agree to the statement that social media can make an impact.

Every time we scroll down through Facebook or Instagram, we could come across numerous advertisements that grab our attention. Now-a-days with the advancement of machine learning, advertising has become customized to every individual based on his search history or purchases in particular online stores. Moreover, people post videos on YouTube sharing their experiences with the usage of certain products in which some can be sponsored and the rest can be their honest reviews. Hence, consumers may consider you tuber’s opinion while shopping online or offline. Whereas, some of the customers like to tweet about their post-purchase dissatisfaction and the others who relate themselves to the similar situations can retweet the posts. All of their combined disapprobation could affect the retailer’s business.

On the other hand, there are few people who do not adapt to any new changes and would prefer to purchase goods only in the shops that they are well aware of.

To recapitulate, social networking sites manipulate people to a greater extent in the context of buying products. In my opinion, we should purchase an item which is relevant to us and when in confusion, we can always refer to ratings and reviews mentioned by other folks in online retail stores.