The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising has become omnipresent in this day and age, surrounding customers with products and images; however, some people believe that advertisements are overall detrimental to society and thus should be banned. I disagree with the statement, despite acknowledging the reason behind it.

Granted, advocates of imposing a ban on all kinds of advertising may argue that certain ads these days tend to be exaggerated or even falsified to attract more sales. For example, some IELTS teaching institutions in Vietnam, when promoting their centers, may promise to ensure a solid 8.0 band score in just one month, which is an almost impossible task for many, for their “future” students, despite their students’ lack of rudimentary knowledge. Opponents of such a ban might also add that certain advertisements could be detrimental. Some advertisements related to medicine or health, they say, could take a toll on people’s overall well-being because when consuming fake medicine, advertised largely, customers can react negatively towards what they have just consumed, potentially deteriorating the existing illnesses that need curing. However, these aforementioned perspectives fail to factor in numerous advertising regulations long enacted. This, as a result, could somewhat ensure the quality of advertising promoted, minimizing the risk of fallacy, and protecting people from such negatives of advertising.

The argument in favor of advertising is further strengthened by its beneficial impacts on economic growth. Advertising, by nature, is used to promote and popularize products. Obviously, when a product is prevalent among consumers, it tends to be consumed more compared to other less-known goods, leading to increased income, by extension, a prosperous society. For example, Coca Cola, often judiciously embracing celebrity endorsement marketing strategy, has attracted billions of consumers over the course of their business, making it one of the most thriving beverage brands across the globe, and hugely contributing to the world’s economy. This serves as a testament to how powerful advertising can be in such a cut-throat world, where companies and businesses have to vie for each customer. Additionally, advertisements also aid customers in reaching high-quality products that are not famous and new in the market. This not only gives small, new businesses incentives and income to relentlessly strive for the better, but it also improves people’s overall well-being by introducing to them superior goods.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for advocating a complete ban on advertisements, I would contend that advertising still has an indispensable role to play in our globalized world, given the fact that it bolsters economic growth, incentivizes small businesses, and improves people’s lives.