Some are of the opinion that people are naturally born as good leaders while others feel that leadership skills can be learned. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people take a belief that leadership is a natural talent, while others believe that leadership can be nourished through persistent practice. From my perspective, I take side with both viewpoints.

On the one hand, we can define inborn leaders as those who possess distinctive personal traits that a good leader needs, including: charisma, decisiveness, superb communication skills. Since these capabilities are endowed with them at birth, they have a tendency to show their personal aptitude for leadership at the early age. Genes or hereditary features are often being mentioned as causes for innate leadership skills. Throughout the world’s history, a variety of great men who are considered to have this innate ability such as: Barrack Obama, Ho Chi Minh President, Malcolm X or Mahatma Gandhi, who did not have the opportunity to go through any training courses to become great leaders.

On the other hand, those who are not born to be a leader can also enhance themselves through proper training courses which offer numerous necessary skills, such as: public speaking, body languages or management abilities. Besides, the surrounding environments such as schools and families also have a great influence on learned leaders. Schools with variety of groups activities lends children a helping hand to develop resourcefulness and teamwork abilities. Leadership is also stemmed from growing up with parents working as leaders, since children will have higher chance to nurture some indispensable skills from them. In the long run, their leadership abilities will be formed through constant refinement.

In conclusion, leadership can be formed through different aspects, whether it is natural traits or learnable qualities.