Some are of the opinion that people are naturally born as good leaders while others feel that leadership skills can be learned. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is asserted by a number of people that leadership skills belong to human instinct whereas critics say that this is the result of progressing and learning. I would concur with the later notion on the grounds that there are some aspects of leadership in which genetic traits are unable to intervene in.

For one thing, the progenies could inherit several characteristics from their parents to become a good leader. From a scientific perspective, the primitive cognitive system and preconception of the child are nurtured since formative years by parental bonds and will subconsciously be affected by both maternal and paternal intelligence and personality. In the context in which parents are leaders, as a result, when they are born, certain traits that have been instilled in their natural instincts will contribute to their further development of individuality. These kids with dynamic characteristics or autonomous and abstract thinking will likely to embark on the same path of being a leader like their parents.

For another, I still hold the view that leadership skills can be acquired through training and learning as these two factors lay a solid foundation of every true achievement. Yet, it is essential to instruct a child and gear him towards leading the others at an early age. Notwithstanding how good their parents are, having the right instruction is of crucial importance when environmental factors also contribute in shaping personality. For instance, kids could be educated at school about how to conduct a small event or festival under the supervision of the adults or to organize club activities and ensure the specific role of each member during the operation. Hence, during the process, it will foster in them the problem-solving abilities which genetic traits cannot be involved. Furthermore, criticism is an inevitable part which leaders will encounter and people have to be mentally stable to overcome such hardship, which could only be enhanced from previous failures when training.

To conclude, the view that genetic traits account for good leadership skills could be justified to some degree. Nonetheless, practicing is more important in determining one’s ability to shape the world.