Some are of the opinion that people are naturally born as good leaders while others feel that leadership skills can be learned. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether a great leader is born due to innate talent or through practice is remained a debatable topic. In my opinion, I am inclined to agree with the latter opinion for certain reasons which will be discussed in this essay.

While it is understandable that with certain innate characteristics, bold or decisive, certain people are just born to be a leader. Those people could achieve the leader position quicker than the general. For example, fast learning, a special ability that could enhance the knowledge acquisition process in certain areas that most people might struggle with. Thus, in favour of those who could master a skill in a short period, a great number of opportunities is offered to them to practice leadership skills. However, those traits might only help people become excellent experts in their field because there are other qualities required.

On the other hand, it is widely believed that leaders are made, not born. Leadership demands various skills that could be acquired and instilled over time. Experience is a crucial part of it. In the military, a set of skills that correlate with leadership, overcoming fear, working under pressure, logical thinking and persistence, is usually included in the training. Due to the nature of war, it seemed that solder is needed to be a leader at any time. Therefore, it is not impossible for a leader to be made.

In conclusion, becoming a leader could be an option for the majority of people. Meanwhile, great leadership required more than just training.