Some believe it is important for cities and towns to invest heavily in building large

outdoor public spaces. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Human diseases related to sedentary lifestyles are rising. Therefore, to address the problem, some people suggest that the government should implement policies to increase public open spaces to encourage people to become more involved in physical activities. I totally agree with this idea, and I will explain the reason in the following paragraph.

First, due to the global urbanisation trend, towns and cities are becoming densely populated urban areas. As a result, the demand for accommodation is growing, leading to the decline of open public places. In addition, people’s activities are often associated with sitting still, ranging from working at their desk to playing computer games or mobile phones all day. Consequently, we are suffering from health problems such as gaining weight or even obesity. Secondly, spending a lot of time indoors may lead to mental diseases such as autism or depression. According to medical experts, these issues can be alleviated by doing exercises in fresh air, such as walking or running in parks. Especially if we do this with our friends, the outcome will be more efficient. Besides, participating in activities in outdoor spaces will improve people’s health and prevent diseases.

Admittedly, utilising spaces for housing is important owing to the accommodation deficit, which is increasing. In particular, in developing countries such as Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia, this is becoming more and more serious. However, human health is a vital factor; thus, it is worth heavily investing in it.

To summarise, without good physical and mental health, we cannot make property for ourselves and contribute to building an affluent country. Hence, investing in public spaces is an investment in our future.