Nowadays, more and more people from different cities are spending more time away from their families. What are the possible reasons and the effects on the people themselves and their fami-lies?

Today, accompanied by economic growth, people are spending less time with their families. I think there are two main causes and a number of damaging effects.

The major cause is probably the huge volume of work that takes most of their time. An average working person spends from six to eight hours per day at work. Besides, there are a number of other work tasks, ranging from extra time for short-term projects to business trips. In this era of immensely competitive jobs, everyone ought to try hard to do their best if they do not want to lose their job. This leads to the second reason for this problem, which is the burden of finance. There are numerous expenses that we ought to pay for, such as accommodation, food, or children’s study fees. These all depend on the income made from work.

The effects on themselves and their families can be quite serious. First, the gap between them and their family members will be formed because of the lack of time they spend talking to each other. This causes consequences, such as misunderstandings, less sympathy for the other members, and even divorce. Second, living in such a distant and conflicted family may impact negatively on their children, especially if they are in the growing stage, which is an emotional, insecure, and rebellious stage. As a result, children may feel disconnected from their parents and become involved in troubling situations. For example, decreasing academic records, falling into depression, or becoming a juvenile criminal.

To sum up, the causes of this trend are primarily to do with time spent working and financial pressure, and the effect on people and their family members is the separation between them.