Some believe that more academic subjects such as chemistry, physics
and history should be taught in schools, while others believe that
students will derive more benefit from studying practical subjects, such
as motor mechanics and cooking. Discuss both views and provide your
own opinion with relevant examples.
Educational institutions around the world have been trying to find the best
mix between academic and practical courses. Although academic subjects
have been the primary focus for a good number of years, practical ones are
gaining more attention recently.
On the one hand, academic courses, such as chemistry and history, are of
vital importance for students. First, by studying those courses at high school,
students are equipped with the fundamental knowledge to continue their
higher education, especially in science fields. For example, in order to be an
environmental scientist whose job is to preserve the environment, a student
certainly needs to acquire complex knowledge and be fluent in academic
theories. Second, academic courses are necessary because they help
graduates land higher-paying jobs. In fact, most high-salaried workers are
required to have complex understandings of their disciplines, which can only
be achieved if they have taken academic subjects.
On the other hand, practical courses, such as mechanics and cooking, are
necessary for the majority of people. First, since many people do not want
to commit years of their lives to a college education, practical subjects allow
the majority to make a living much earlier. This would have a variety of
positive impacts on the society as there would be fewer unemployed
workers, which also means fewer crime cases. Second, companies
nowadays tend to place more emphasis on workers who have solid practical
experience. For instance, in order to be a hotel manager, one is required to
finish his or her training courses, which are usually non-academic.
In conclusion, although academic courses are important to some, practical
ones are crucial for most. Depending on the job market and career path,
students should be able to find their best mix.