Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while
others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give you
own opinion
People have different views about the role and function of museums. In my opinion, museums
can and should be both entertaining and educational.
On the one hand, it can be argued that the main role of a museum is to entertain. Museums are
tourist attractions, and their aim is to exhibit a collection of interesting objects that many
people will want to see. The average visitor may become bored if he or she has to read or listen
to too much educational content, so museums often put more of an emphasis on enjoyment
rather than learning. This type of museum is designed to be visually spectacular, and may have
interactive activities or even games as part of its exhibitions.
On the other hand, some people argue that museums should focus on education. The aim of
any exhibition should be to teach visitors something that they did not previously know. Usually
this means that the history behind the museum’s exhibits needs to be explained, and this can
be done in various ways. Some museums employ professional guides to talk to their visitors,
while other museums offer headsets so that visitors can listen to detailed commentary about
the exhibition. In this way, museums can play an important role in teaching people about
history, culture, science and many other aspects of life.
In conclusion, it seems to me that a good museum should be able to offer an interesting,
enjoyable and educational experience so that people can have fun and learn something at the
same time.