Some believe that people will purchase a product based on their needs and advertising is not needed.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The level of necessity of advertisement in business, nowadays, becomes a contentious topic as while there is an assertion that the ultimate decision of purchase comes from consumers’ demand, others still argue that advertising plays an imperative role. From my point of view, I agree with the latter because of some reasons that will be elaborated in this essay.

To commence with, with the context of severe competitive commercial activities today, it is undeniable that advertisement is a powerful marketing tool helping businesses in increasing their sales and expanding market share. Indeed, since there are more and more companies founded supplying nearly the same kinds of products, advertisement helps them to differentiate their brand and delivery their image as well as the meaningful message, that businesses go for, to target customers. As a result, consumers are likely to choose and be loyal to such products rather than others with even the same quality. For instance, although there are numerous corporations manufacturing soft-drink, Coca-Cola still holds the leading position in this market for decades. This success rests on effective marketing strategies with well-crafted advertisements ingraining in consumers' memories and evoking positive feelings associated with products.

Moreover, albeit conceding that customers are often aware of what they want, I would still contend that advertising does not simply meet needs but creates them. In other words, even though there is no essential demand before, customers are likely to be spurred to make the purchase when they accidentally see an attractive advert. To illustrate, before the invention of the smartphone, there was absolutely no demand or notion for such a high-tech device. It is advertising that broadens people's knowledge about the smartphone making their life easier and more convenient so that form the desire of owning a smartphone in each person. For another example, in some remote areas, people are not educated well about the importance of teeth healthcare and for that reason, demand for toothbrushes is definitely low. However, thanks to offline advertisements that businesses try to deliver to customers, their awareness has changed. Therefore, marketing campaigns play a pivotal role in stimulating people's buying habits, providing high-quality products and services, and improving the diversionary experience of consumers overall.

In conclusion, at any stage of society's development, advertising never be unnecessary because it not only makes businesses more lucrative but also helps more and more consumers in accessing more innovative and better products.