Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Children nowadays are spending more time on screen-time activities. They use it to entertain themselves due to their parents' business. This, in fact, harm the children a lot and seem to be a negative development.

As we all know, people always need in-person communication because it is one of the most effective ways of communicating. The ever-increase of time used on technology devices of children could make the face-to-face communication decrease. This, in turn, might lead to the lack of mutual social communicating among the children. They could get used to chatting and talking with other people via phone not in person. Consequently, this in the future, might create a world where even parents don't understand about their children.

Moreover, spending times on the smartphone also make the children become more dependent on the Internet. They are used to searching everything on the Internet, with non-official sources. For instance, when don't know something, instead of asking adults and researching on a variety of sources such as book, dictionary, magazines and Internet, they just concentrate most on the Internet researching because they are getting used to with the non-in-person communication and they find it is hard to ask other persons. This will not only cause the lack of correct knowledge but also the dependence on the internet among the children.

One of the cases that I can see clearly from my family is one of my nieces. When she was just a toddler, her parents were so busy that couldn't spend time for her. They just gave her a smartphone and let her to use it from the early age. This, in turn, made her become more dependent on the phone. Consequently, she is now so much introvert and she find it hard to communicate with other people, even her parents. Her parents once had me become her tutor and I was shocked because she knew a lot of things but most of them are wrong, due to her phone researching.

In conclusion, let children to spend hours every day on their smartphones is considered to be a crime due to the fact that it can ruin their future. Instead of that, parents should spend more time communicating with their children.