Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern world, smartphones are no longer strange to everyone even in the countryside. Technology applications have the potential to benefit individuals in various aspects of life. From my perspective, the daily smartphone usage among children nowaday has both positive and negative effects that depend on the purposes of each user.

On one hand, children who have early awareness and self-consciousness, can take advantage of smartphones. To begin with, smartphones can be a powerful learning tool. Nowaday, there are plenty of applications designed for study, and these informative apps can be downloaded on a smartphone. For example, during the Covid-19 pandemic, government-imposed lockdowns caused the closure of schools. Consequently, students had to shift to learning online from home, and smartphones emerged as a valuable solution for this challenge. Besides, through using smartphones, children can develop technology skills. Because in the digital era with rapid changes, it is necessary to be aware of technology skills that are highly assessed in the employer's view. Another benefit that can be mentioned such as entertainment and social media. Smartphones provide diversity entertainment options including social media platforms, games or videos which can bring instant satisfaction and social interaction.

On the other hand, many negative effects can arrive when the usage might not be controlled. The first negative aspect is health concerns. Excessive screen time can bring about health issues such as eye strain, disrupted sleep, sedentary lifestyle and potential obesity. Not only physical health but also mental health is adversely affected. When children are the victim of cyberbullying or the subject of online fraud, that can produce their psychological injury as depression.

All in all, people should take advantage of using smartphones, while restricting the negative effects of this tool. It is important to manage phone time and ensure the balance between technology use and other activities.