Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, with the breakthrough of technology, the young generations have increasingly had access to smartphones and utilized it for a noticeable time each day. While this phenomenon is attributed to a wide range of justifications, I firmly believe that the trend toward overusing phones among children could pose some detrimental effects on lives of the youth.

On the first hand, the widespread popularity of smartphones among children is held accountable to several reasons. One of the major causes is the video games available on phones that are addictive to youngsters. In fact, by the curiosity, many children desire to discover the features of those convenient devices. Therefore, they might come across some attractive games on App store or Google play, and invite their classmates or friends to experience games together in search for happiness and relaxation. For instance, a huge proportion of Vietnamese students are accustomed to playing 'Lords mobile' game as their daily routine. That is simply because the game has acquired widespread popularity among children across the globe since 2017 due to it's exciting ways to play. In addition, they can have their classmates as their partners to refresh after a busy school day. In other words, Lord mobile and some similar games are the indispensable part of many learners' school years.

On the other hand, this development might impact deleteriously not only on children's health but also their scholastic performances. Firstly, allocating a considerable amount of time exposing to small screens of smartphones in lieu of doing exercises regularly could put children's health at risk. In particular, looking at the mobile phones' screen for such a long time would lead to a wide range of visual problems, hence a dramatic rise in the number of children who wear glasses at a young age nowadays. Secondly, students are willingly to play those addictive games with their friends even during lessons. Consequently, they might miss some crucial information about certain modules, which results in worse academic results at school as well as the lower quality of the curriculum. As a result, children will face up to some hardship to achieve their scholastic targets.

In conclusion, the increased number of children spending hours on their smartphones is mainly attributable to the attractive video games and apps. And I strongly hold the view that this trend could influence negatively to children's lives, namely health deterioration and worsened academic performances.