Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, children are becoming increasingly dependent on their smartphones. There are several reasons why young people like this. In my perspective, although this phenomenon could have both positive and negative consequences, but I would agree that there are far more drawbacks.

There are various reasons why children spend hours on their phones on a daily basic. One of the primary reasons is that they are captivated by video games that are more and more popular nowadays. Game developers often pay attention to young people, particularly teenagers or even children, who have a lot of time to relax and use their cell phones to play games. They have a host of staffs and experts to draw children attention and make them addictive. Another reason could be that other pastimes are not interesting. It is clear that outside of the school day, children do not have much space or playground to enjoy. It is difficult for them because the limited time and it is not easy to access or even, they have to pay money to join in. Therefore, their phones are a good solution. Children can do everything they want and enjoy their hobbies on their phones.

There are both positive and negative effects of this trend. The advantages could be improving some skills related to familiar with new technologies, taking advantage of leisure time effectively. Besides, there are a lot of drawbacks that using hours on a cell phone bring. Firstly, it would have some problems related to eyes. It is true that spending a lot of time a day on screen is one of the main reasons of the issue. Moreover, children could be distracted with other important tasks such as doing homework, communicating with friends and family members.

In conclusion, children spend hours on their phones to study or learn some new skills or do something like that. It would be a good way to use smartphones but I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.