Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones Why is this case Do you think this is a positive or negative development

Nowadays, along with the thriving development of modern technology, the smartphone is one of the most prevalent and also a must-have device for any individual. In this case, children are no exception. this tendency has raised the issue that they are spending too much time on surfing the internet or playing mobile games on their smartphones. In my opinion, the smartphone can definitely offer an enormous source of entertainment while children are more drawn to playing rather than learning, so children are likely to be addicted to smartphones easily. I believe this is a negative tendency explained in this essay.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the smartphone is a versatile and flexible implement that assists children in resolving problems as well as entertaining. It can help them find literally any information on a click of a button using the Google engine, especially the open AI platform can answer any type of question using voice recognition. When it comes to entertainment, with the Wi-Fi connection, children can access a host of entertainment provided by various manufacturers online. For instance, a student can search online for a specific mathematical solution with ease, this helps him to reduce the burden of spending hours thinking of ideas and ways to resolve math problems. Moreover, he can play video games to relieve stress after hours in classes. Hence, the smartphone isn’t just a device for dialing, it is an efficient tool for learning and entertaining as well.

On the other hand, despite the pros that the smartphone can offer, there are absolutely some drawbacks related to mental health problems and cyberbullying matter. Particularly, young students cannot distinguish the good and bad on the Internet area which is full of misleading and incorrect information nowadays. As a result, naive and mischievous students are likely to take up bad hobbies from a group of bad people that they idolize. For example, there are a lot of content creators who post short videos on various platforms talking about drugs or murder which creates bad experiences in children’s minds and turns them into cyberbullies. Not to mention that spending hours in front of a small screen attributes to many health problems such as depression and eyes related ailments.

in conclusion, although the smartphone is a powerful tool for students to learn and blow off steam after study, the drawbacks are inevitable and sometimes can affect children’s personalities and health in a negative way.