Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this contemporary society, technology such as smartphones is becomingly widespread, especially for children's use. There are some reasons for this trend and I believe this is a negative change.

Today, the easy accessibility to smart devices may lead to more hours spent on smartphones for children. These phones are inexpensive and affordable to everyone even children compared to the past when solely adults and wealthy people could purchase them. Therefore, it is common to understand that youngers possess a smartphone for their personal purposes. In addition, the popularity of the attractive applications on phones such as social media and games can be considered to be a compelling reason why the youth spend more time on phones.

From my perspective, I totally argue that this trend has a detrimental impact on the development of children in both physical and mental aspects. Wasting too much time on modern phones lead children not to have sufficient time for engaging in outdoor activities, sports, and exercises that are crucial for physical strength. Besides, lack of exposure to ordinary life deters them from learning essential skills including communication and making friends. As a consequence, they may be less confident and find it hard when communicating with others.

In conclusion, there are understandable causes that make children prefer smartphones to other activities, I entirely consider this an advantage in the development of children.