Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people argue that we are no longer remember the original meaning of festivals, and that most of us treat them as opportunities to have fun. While I agree that enjoyment seems to be the priority during festival times, I do not agree that people have forgotten what these festivals mean.

On the one hand, religious and traditional festivals certainly become times for celebration. In the UK, Christmas is a good example of a festival period when most people are most concerned with shopping, giving and receiving presents, decorating their homes and enjoying traditional meals with their families. Nonetheless, in this day and age, most people look forward to Christmas as a holiday period rather than a time to practice religion. Similar behaviour can be seen during non-religious festivals, such as Bonfire Night. Many associate this occasion with making fires, watching firework displays, and perhaps going to large events in local parks. In the other words, enjoyment is people’s primary goal.

On the other hand, I side with those who disagree with the idea that the underlying meaning of such festivals has been forgotten. In Vietnam, families play a role in passing knowledge of a variety of religious festivals’ deeper significance on to the next generation. For example, on New Year’s Eve in the Chinese calendar, most parents and their children come back to their hometown, practising ceremonial prays and religious rituals such as making traditional “Chung” cakes. The children are taught in detail about the stories behind these long-standing food and traditional activities on these occasions in Vietnamese people’s conviction.

In conclusion, although people mainly enjoy themselves during the festivals, I believe that they are still aware of the reasons for these celebrations.