Some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today's world, cell phones take considerable amount of time from young ones. This occurs because parents replace the parental attention their children needs with technological gadgets, as well as peer pressures. In my opinion, I believe that this recent occurrence is a downward trend, owning to the fact that teenagers are less socially interactive and also imbibe vices learnt from the internet.

Arguably, excessive use of smartphones by today's youngsters has been due to lack of parental care and influence from co-equals. Recent parenthoods have made it a norm to compensate for the deficient time they exhibit towards their wards with smartphones. According to recent studies, children of this decade spend a large chunk of their time operating mobile phones due to their parents' carelessness. Another valid reason why teenagers overindulge their telephones is due to influence from their mates and they don't want to be excluded from the current trend. For example, statistics released by Apple company, revealed that the recent iphone model was purchased mostly by high school students due to recommendations from their peers.

Unfortunately, this latest practice are indicative of some unpleasant turn of events. Firstly, some teenagers have poor social interactions which is characterized by their inability to hold conversations for a reasonable amount of time. They prefer to indulge their online friends. To illustrate, it was observed that in a summer camp organized for young people, they interacted poorly with themselves but were rather engrossed with their smartphones. Secondly, children learn bad habits from the internet which they imbibe. For instance, some youths enjoy watching pornograhy videos, this has contributed to sexual misbehaviours displayed today.

In all to recapitulate, some children spend a lot of time on their phones daily because there is lack of parental attention and peer pressures. Therefore, I am of the opinion that this recent trend is a negative development in view of the fact that youngsters lack social interaction and pick up unpleasant morals from the cyberspace.