Some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones Why is this the case Do you think this is a positive or negative development

In the modern world, where technology has advanced significantly, a number of youngsters spend most of their time using smartphones. This phenomenon is due to multiple reasons that will be thoroughly discussed in this essay, as well as why I claim this trend has a detrimental effect on children.

To commence with, there are several factors that influence the frequency of the young using their phones. One of them would be the requirements of schools and tutoring centers for students. In this day and age, the development of science and technology has significantly improved people’s lives and facilitated mankind‘s education. Consequently, students are requested to use their gadgets more regularly with a view to studying at school and at home. This great demand has led to the reality that more and more teenagers are using their devices everywhere, at any time to complete their assignments and meet deadlines. Besides, nowadays, parents are so busy at work that hardly can they pay attention to the children, and take the overuse of smartphones into account. As a result, many students take advantage of this fact and spend time playing online games or engaging in recreational activities rather than studying.

In consequence of this phenomenon, the youth are inevitably affected. Firstly, the more time teenagers spend on their electronic devices, the more vulnerable they are, physically and mentally. Researchers have indicated that overusing smartphones could lead to several diseases, ranging from shortsightedness to excruciating pain in the neck and back. In some severe circumstances, children might damage their bodies to the point that needs surgeries to fix them. Secondly, such children might refrain from socializing with other people, alienating themselves from friends and family, owing to their incomprehensive understanding of the outside world. Thus, they might further indulge themselves in smartphones, which might aggravate the situation.

To recapitulate, irresponsible actions from children and the deficiency in parental control are the main culprits of this trend. To alleviate this issue, both families and schools are held responsible.