In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes for this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Some metropolitan cities and towns have to bear ill-effects of heavy traffic owing to the increasing population. Factors contributing towards this rise and corrective measures to be taken to solve this will be addressed in this essay.

Firstly, cities and towns offer plethora of opportunities to the society especially in the form of jobs, thus attracting more people from far. Predictably, this rise in population ultimately leads to an increase in number of vehicles on roads. Secondly, standards of living are high in these areas so making every person to have a personal vehicle for comfortable ride. Sometimes, we encounter a single person within a 5-seater vehicle stuck in traffic for hours. Moreover, public transport is mostly jam-packed and inconvenient to use during peak hours. To add on, these transport halt at every stop, delaying the time to reach to destination. Hence, people choose and enjoy travelling by personal vehicles, bringing out more vehicles on roads. Thirdly, rise in number of vehicles is not reflected in number and size of the roads, it is still the same. It is like asking a grocer to pour 2 kilogram of rice in 1 kilogram bag. Finally, trade in cities and towns are generally high thus, a large number of heavy vehicles can be encountered on these roads making the condition of traffic more worse. Even though entry of heavy vehicles is restricted at particular hours of the day still it is not efficient to solve the problem.

A saying goes “Every lock is made with key” So the issues if addressed efficiently, negative impact of these can be reduced on public. To begin, companies and colleges can provide free transport facilities, thereby reducing the number of cars and bikes on roads. Another aspect that needs government involvement is widening of roads and building flyovers and dedicating each lane for specific types of vehicles, like for example on lane for two-wheeler and other for four-wheeler. Thirdly technology can be utilised, a case in point, one country is planning to introduce buses that run on thin tracks and these buses can be elevated over other vehicles and move unhindered by traffic jams.

To summarise, although, towns and cities are facing traffic problems, it can be avoided with synthesis of technology, government’s investment and contribution from public.