Some colleges encourage students to create businesses while they are still in school Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

Entrepreneurship in colleges is recently encouraged among students. This trend is believed to bring about many drawbacks, while advocates of it argue that this idea might benefits students in some ways.

Starting a business as an undergraduate may create many downsides in terms of academic results and financial condition. First, students take risks to allocate a considerable amount of money to invest in their business. If they fail and go bankrupt or even are swallowed up by other campanies, they will have to suffer significant debt burdens and do not have enough capacity to pay them off. Second, running a business while in college might have an severe impact on a student’s academic performance as they pay too much attention to their pursuit and might fall behind with their study. As a result, students will not achieve good scores and have to earn a lousy qualification, which leads to worse potential in the job market.

Nevertheless, students can have a better comprehension of their faculty and achieve needed experience for future business when starting up since colleges. First, since classroom learning can be brief, abstract, and impractical, making students often complain that they will never be able to apply what they are learning in the “real world”, starting up is a golden opportunity to apply their knowledge of the curriculum into real-life context and offer them a great insight of what they are learning. Moreover, students can obtain practical experiences in the market such as social relationship, networking, leadership, and, more importantly, the ability of planning. Even if they fail, those aforementioned skills will be the head start in business administration.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that the advantages of working while in colleges certainly outweigh its drawbacks.