Some companies require its employees to wear uniform. State the advantage and disadvantages of doing so and also give your opinion.

Maintaining decorum is the foremost preference of a company. To imply this, they force their employees to wear uniforms in the premises. This has various benefits and drawbacks. In my opinion, wearing uniforms should not be enforced by the companies.

Few individuals and companies opine that uniform is the symbol of equality. Employees with in a company, irrespective of the caste and religion, get to wear same clothes. There is no difference between the rich and the poor. Uniforms are also a symbol of identity and reputation. Working force stands uniquely among the crowd. Another advantage of wearing uniforms is that employees do not have to waste their time for the selection of clothes.

On the flip side, there are a number of disadvantages of enforcing uniforms during the working hours. The first and foremost limitation of doing so is to compromise the comfort of individuals. Some jobs require ease for the perfection. If employees are compelled to put on uniform, they may lack performance and effectiveness. For instance, IT industry jobs can only be done with perfection if the individual is comfortable sitting in front of their computers. Packed in the uniforms, makes them cumbersome. Secondly, it is difficult for some employees to bear the costs of uniforms in addition to their regular wears.

To conclude, making uniforms a compulsion for the employees, may lead to both pros and cons. However, keeping in mind the comfort level of the employees, uniforms should never be a constraint for them. There should be a freedom of dressing.