Many doctors are concerned about the high use of computer games by children and young people. What mental and physical problems may arise from excessive use of these games? How could these problems be reduced?

Addiction of computer games, particularly the mobile versions have become an alarming concern these days. While the parents are concerned about the detrimental effects of this phenomenon, doctors are equally tensed for the increasing problems as a result of prolonged computer usage. This essay will scrutinize some harmful results of extensive usage of computer games and some ways to conquer them.

At the outset, among numerous negative consequences of longer usage of computer games, obesity is the most challenging one. As enjoying games on computers promotes sedentary lifestyle, this may ultimately lead to fatness. Moreover, regular usage of computers can also result in poor vision of the young people. While people enjoy playing games, they get addicted to them and consequently in severe cases may also be effected by mental illness, particularly depression. One pertinent example is the usage of the game PUBG, which has crossed millions of users these days, further affecting their work and academic life. Some reports have been out decrying that about 10% of the PUBG users are so addicted that they have ruined their reflexes.

There are certainly some solutions to these problems, particularly for the children, where parents will have to devote time for their kids to deviate them from playing games extensively. Moreover, encouraging the physical games and sports can also be a helping hand as children get used to computer games only when they are leading a monotonous life. Involvement in the friend circle could further loose their interest in playing computer games because this can gain them enjoyment that computer games cannot.

In conclusion, although it is impossible to extirpate the consequences of computer usage, we can definitely limit them to some extent by being more proactive towards our youngsters and encouraging them towards a healthy lifestyle.