Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There are countries pumping money for elite athletes equipments rather than public sports services. I believe such behavior has immensely positive effects on its local country.

First and forest, the country would benefit from training top athletes, as successful athletes adds glory to the country. Compared with amateur sports, competitive sports require professional training and guidance. If governments can offer customized facilities, with dedicated hours of practice and proper guidance, athletes are likely to win in global events. In international sports games, the Olympic Games for example, athletes are representatives of their home country, and if they can outcompete others in the competition, they will help build a positive country image, therefore promoting country’s reputation and international status.

What’s more, professional sports is a multi-million-pounds industry, which would help boost their country’s economic growth, and contribute to reaching international success. It is undoubted that Successful sportsmen could serve as advertisements of the country, thus attracting fans and tourists to visit their hometowns. When people travel to a country, they spend money on accommodations, foods and other purchases, giving rise to higher government revenue. However, such positive effect is missed out upon in public sports development. it is believed that international success, at its core, is economic success, so spending money on training elite athletes is greatly beneficial to achieve international success.

To conclude,it is wise for government to provide money for top sports, for the sake of nation’s reputation as well as economic growth.