Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Comparing to the countries that offering the sport facilities to the public, some countries only offers the elite athletes with professional sports facilities. The fundamental meaning of building the specialised facilities is to facilitate the athletes to competing for the award and honors in the international sports fair. Therefore, the advantages of exclusive use for athletes is greater than offering to the common people.

The discussion will divided into 2 sections. Firstly, training the top athlete and wining the prize is not only the honor for the individual but also the reflection of the country's power and strenghth. Wining the award in the worldwide has brought enormous attention to the country and also stimulate the sports-related business value such as sponsorship from foreigh enterprise. In addition, the effect on the public is also another reason of wining the award. Stories behind the athlete is way meaningful to the common people comparing to the prize itself. For instance, Quan Hongchan, a young female diver that made her appearance in the recent years has drawn great attention to the diving sports. She was raised and trained under severe condition but her persistence and talent made her stand out from all the divers, which has educated many athletes in various ways.

As for the disadvantages that may bring to the public will be the inequility for the common people that is also the tax payer. Those who have paid the tax but cannot enjoy the benefit of those infrastructures and facilities may be disappointed on the government. The less beneficiaries of the facilites, the less passion on promoting sports. Taking National Cross Country Centre in China, it is used for the winter Olympics during 2022 and after the event is done, the site is opened for the public and those who are interested in skiing sports.

In summary, specialised facilities for the athletes prior using is undoubtedly correct since the benefit is larger. However there will be alternative way to put the facilities in a better use. China has build specialised facilities for those elite but at the same time, it is available for the public use when international fair is closed, which gains a win-win result in terms of the sports passion of the public as well as the profit gaining from maximising the usage of the site.