Some people think living in big cities is bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is not rare to see people criticize city life for being detrimental to dwellers’ health. However, I disagree with this since I believe city life brings benefits for residents’ health.

Firstly, there are better infrasturctures and amenities in metropolis that can improve residents’ physical health. Surgeons and nurses employed in city hospitals are more likely to be experts in their fields, so citizens can receive professional medical advices and treatments. However, clinics in rural areas may lack the experienced doctors and well-developed healthcare facilities, which is linked to the fact that rural areas inhabitants tend to move to big cities for medical treatment when they are undertaking certain health issues. Secondly, there are higher chances that urban dwellers would live a more secured life than those of countryside, which contributes to a better mental healthy. Megacities provide ample opportunities, so it is comparatively earlier for people to get employed and earn higher salary, therefore affording a higher quality of life. If residents can earn a decent salary, they would have the money and freedom to pursue their dreams, which would also help strengthen their mental health.

Detractors of city life may argue that the increasingly intense competition in urban areas imposes a tremendous amount of pressure on residents, therefore promoting an unhealthy environment of anxiety in the city. However, people can not refrain from pressure in this modern society. While urban citizens suffer from competition, countryside resident may experience a financial burden, as less job opportunities are provided. So instead of trying to avoid from pressure, what people should do is to transform negative pressure into positive motivation, improving our knowledge and making ourself more socially competent.

To conclude, while urban life seem more competitive than that of countryside, living in big cities provides more merits to residents’ both physical and mental health.