Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use.

Is it a positive or negative development?

In modern civilisation, there is a fact that several nations construct specific buildings to master elite athletes’ skills rather than give public athletics facilities provisions. From my perspective, I concur that this phenomenon could result in both beneficial and detrimental effects.

It is undeniable that governments could set up infrastructure specialisation for skilled trainees. That is because their potential can be maximised through those facilities so that they could acquire desirable achievements in international competitions. Hence, outstanding sportspeople could help their countries become more famous in athletics. For instance, in Japan, national practice stadiums have been built like Ajinomoto for professional guidance to players to discover their best abilities. From these stadiums, iconic footballers have been created, such as Mitoma and Ito, who shocked the world by letting the national team to the round of 16 in the recent World Cup.

On the other hand, this propensity could trigger numerous drawbacks. Firstly, a budget concentration on sports’ special constructions to train sports stars would lead to a shortage in financial expenditure on community sports facilities. When this trend continues, citizens might not have access to open sports areas, which results in a sedentary lifestyle with deteriorating health conditions. Furthermore, a scarcity of public sports accommodation may decrease the chances of finding people’s innate possibilities related to sports. To elaborate, citizens would have difficulties searching for sports infrastructure; thus, they may not find proper sites to practise their sports skills. As a result, talents who could achieve notable advances in sports might not be discovered, and that would be a serious loss for the country.

In conclusion, while there are some upsides to building specific land for top athletes to enhance their performances and improve a nation’s standing, I hold a firm belief that it could result in many downsides, including worsening public health and low possibilities of uncovering gifted athletes.