Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, due to globalization, international awards, especially in sport fields, have emerged as a topic of interest. It is believed that some nations should focus on equipment upgrades for their professional athletes instead of supplying equipment suitable for everyone. From my perspective, it is a practical opinion and I will explain it in the paragraphs below.

Firstly, it is obvious that if the government develops facilities for their sportspersons, they would receive a much more professional environment and their training could also reach a higher result to a certain extent. For instance, in football, given the fact that Viet Nam national pitches do not stand at the same quality as most others in the world. This is because of the lack of investment in upgrading equipment for proficient football clubs. However, if they take more focus on them, they can totally create a much better experience for their footballers. This would not only facilitate them to play on a more quality pitch, but also help them reduce injuries caused by friction with the football court. Additionally, it can also result in the increase in the quality of training for players as well as helping them prepare better for their matches in the international arena.

Secondly, providing suitable sport facilities for everyone can result in the abundance of public equipment and the wastage of state coffers. It is clear that not everyone has the need to play sports at home, let alone in public. Moreover, in some regions, there are many public areas for playing basketball with a wide space and pre-installed hoops. But instead of using it for its original purposes, many people choose these places just to let their hair down by playing with their kites or kittens. However, although not all people intend on using public sport equipment, after several years, the government still has responsibility for fixing and renovating them with large amounts of money.

In conclusion, I agree that improving facilities for professional purposes with an aim to victory in the international arena is more practical and necessary than spending money for creating public sport equipment for all people.