Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's fast-paced world, several countries have implemented the law allowing the senior citizens to continue working without an exact retirement age. In my opinion, the significant demerits of no restrained working age overshadow several advantages.

On the one hand, there are a number of benefits of this development. To begin with, the overall public health would be improved. If there are money incentives, more people would make an effort to protect their health and keep earning incomes, which encourages an increasing number of intellectual old citizens. Furthermore, the old generation could earn their own money and therefore are less dependent on the care from the younger generation.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the shortcomings of this phenomenon eclipse aforementioned benefits. Firstly, the competition level could be greater. In fact, people in the 21st century no longer only compete with other peers but also machines and algorithms. Hence, when more citizens seek jobs at the same time, the unemployment rate might rise due to the insufficient jobs available for everyone. Secondly, this is likely to give a negative spirit to the young generation when they do not have responsibilities to take care of their parents. Some children would take the advantage of this law and force their parents to work so that they only need to cover their expenses without payment for the old’s health insurance and medicines.

In conclusion, while several favourable impacts could be listed, I deem that it is more advisable to have a fixed retirement age to avoid serious drawbacks.