Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

It is argued that hosting countries of global-scale sports events would do great harm to the countries being in charge. In my opinion, however, the appeals to the nations that organise such competitions are more worth considering.

On the one hand, some people have a hostile attitude to hosting an international sports event due to several reasons. Firstly, it would be a huge waste of the national budget since solely the preparation process could cost up to a millions of dollars. For example, not only would the improvement of the place holding the event be taken into serious consideration but also the transportation facilities, especially on the G-day so as to minimize traffic congestion. Secondly, there are certain devastating impacts on the environment to the host country. As a matter of fact, a worldwide sports event is likely to be in need of hundreds of candidates, the board of directors and thousands of staff coming from several neighboring countries. This leads to unavoidable emergence of a great amount of plastic water bottles as well as waste after a match such as towels and bandages.

On the other hand, I adhere to the economic benefits of hosting a global sports event. The main reason is that fans and sport enthusiasts from every part of the world would seize the opportunities to come to the hosting country encouraging their favorite teams, thus facilitating the local economy. In the Olympics Games 2021 taking place in Tokyo, the New York Times recorded an astounding surge in the demand and profits of both Tokyo’s hotels and restaurants while the Games were happening. Another reason is the investment potential from foreign corporations to the hosting country since only cities that are developed and considered centres of the world business would be chosen to hold such a large scale large-scale event . It is the country who host the event will appear on the headlines of press, newspapers and radios which popularize its name and prosperity to the global citizens and attract contracts from enterprises.

In conclusion, while there are a number of negative effects as a result of organising an international sports event, I am convinced that the hosting country would receive more beneficial outcomes.